ICCAs Celebrates Innovation in Critical Communications


This year’s International Critical Communications Awards took place earlier this week, acknowledging the best and most innovative work taking place across the sector across the course of the last 12 months.

The location for the ceremony was the Casino de Madrid, following the first day of this year’s Critical Communications World, which is also co-located in the Spanish capital.


This year’s winners are:

– Best Use of Critical Communications in Public Safety. NSW Ambulance, for the NSW Ambulance and Vertel Far West P25 radio network

– Best Use of Critical Communications in Utilities. Dicle Electricity Distribution Corporation, Hytera Hytalk PoC solution for Turkey Electricity Company

– Best Use of Critical Communications in Mining, Oil & Gas. Motorola Solutions, DIMETRA
Express TETRA system and ATEX radios, supplied and managed by PS: Radiocom for INEOS Aromatics, Belgium

– Best Hybrid Device of the Year. Motorola Solutions, APX NEXT

– Best Narrowband Device of the Year. Sepura for its SC21 hand portable TETRA radio

– Best Use of Advanced Technology. TapSOS

– Best Use of Critical Communications in Transport. MCS Digital, TETRA for metro trains in Sydney

– TCCA Young Engineer of the Year. Boon Beng Lee, Motorola Solutions

– Outstanding Contribution to Critical Communications. Jeppe Jepsen, Motorola Solutions

– Outstanding Contribution to Critical Communications (highly commended). Public Safety Broadband Network – Innovation Alliance.

Speaking of the importance of the awards, managing director of event organisers Mark Allen Exhibitions, Tim Willoughby, said: “Once again, the International Critical Communications Awards have demonstrated the incredibly high standard of work going on across the sector.

“Each of the winners has demonstrated truly impressive levels of innovation. They each deserve huge congratulations.”

Chair of the ICCA judging panel, Robin Davis, said: “After a difficult 19 months, it was truly gratifying to finally be able to come together as a sector and recognise the work of these amazing winners. Pandemic or not, the sector has proved itself to be as creative and agile as ever, solving operational problems and providing critical communications across the globe.”

This year’s judging panel included Iain Ivory, Ed Parkinson, Thomas Brewster, John Anthony MBE, Sandi Wendelken, Ken Rehbehn, Dr Bego Blanco, Anton Willem Abrahams, Adrian Scrase and Jo Gallacher.

The 2022 ICCAs will take place next June in Vienna, where they will once again be run in conjunction with Critical Communications World.